music

For me, there’s no better place to be than a sweaty, cramped room, where ducking cups of beer (and occasionally urine, yep…ew) eventually becomes a skill. Stood within a crowd of likeminded people, singing along (or screaming in my case) to songs you’ve heard so many times before, that is my haven.

The first concert I went to ( I use concert rather than gig here, for reasons that will become obvious) was the pop sensations that were Steps. Apparently, I was that overwhelmed, and excited to see my then favourite band… that I fell asleep. Poor little four year old me. My first “gig” was Ben Howard at the Manchester Apollo, 2012. There was something about the intimacy/smallness of the venue that made me realise I’d been experiencing live music in the worst way. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed most of the concerts I went to that were in arenas (e.g. Justin Bieber; My World Tour, 2010, no regrets!!),  but when you’re high up in the crowd, and the artist is merely a speck on the stage, you can’t help but feel some sort of disappointment.

The 1975, Manchester Academy, January 2014. The first gig I experienced the dreaded urine throwing, alongside “mosh pits” (although people would probably attempt to start a mosh pit at a bloody Bon Iver gig nowadays.), excessive dancing and jumping, dehydration, sweat dripping from you, and on you from other sweaty human beings, (graphic but true). Yet despite all this, it was one of the best nights of my life.

I’m quite a self conscious person, and I rarely go on “nights out”. Mainly because I don’t feel comfortable in those situations, but also because I’d rather save my money to be able to go to gigs.. because that’s where I really let myself go. Music is of massive importance in my life, as I know it is with others. Just this year I’ve been to 1 festival and 13 gigs, with 4 more before the year ends.

I’ve been to a number of gigs alone recently and ended up meeting some pretty awesome people. So as cliche as it sounds, music really does bring people together.
I think my two favourite gigs this year have been Wolf Alice and Years & Years. Both completely different genres, with two different crowds, but both equally enjoyable. Gigs allow me to forget about the stuff that’s getting me down, and in those couple of hours, I feel more alive than ever.

-I have written “gigs” in excess, now it doesn’t even resemble a word.-

follow me with bloglovin’

Leave a comment